Updating of covid alerts and syndromic alerts.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email

Due to an increase in COVID-19 cases, the National Commission for Risk Prevention and Emergency Attention (CNE) raised the alert status from yellow to orange in the cantons of Desamparados (except Frailes and San Cristóbal districts), La Unión de Cartago, Santa Bárbara, Belén and San Pablo de Heredia, as well as La Cruz in Guanacaste.

This change is due to the assessment that was carried out during epidemiological weeks 40, 41 and 42, which are from September 28 to October 18.

Thus, it is reported that:

Desamparados increased from 336 positive cases to 473; The Union from 160 to 205; Santa Barbara increased from 69 positive cases to 76.

Regarding Belén, this increased its number of positive cases from 31 to 53; San Pablo went up from 40 to 67; while La Cruz reported an increase from 18 to 46.

Regarding the cantons that lower their status from orange alert to yellow alert, the following are reported: Vázquez de Coronado and Curridabat in the province of San José; Santo Domingo in Heredia and Cañas in Guanacaste.

At a press conference, the president of the CNE, Alexander Solís, indicated that currently 16 cantons have an orange alert, 62 have a yellow alert throughout the country and 4 cantons share an orange alert and a yellow alert.

In addition, he pointed out that “the controlled reopening does not mean that there is no longer a risk, so the battle scenarios are home, work and community, so we must protect ourselves and take responsibility as a society during community activities.”

Early alerts for respiratory symptoms

Currently 73 districts in 38 cantons on yellow alert have the highest risk of contagion due to an increase in consultations for cough and fever, which increases the risk of an increase in positive cases of COVID-19

In this way, the cantons that are in an orange alert condition are:


PROVINCIA                                                   CANTONES
San JoséSan José, Desamparados (salvo distritos de San Cristóbal y Frailes), Santa Ana, Alajuelita.
AlajuelaAlajuela (salvo distrito de Sarapiquí), San Carlos.
CartagoOreamuno, La Unión.
HerediaHeredia (salvo distrito Varablanca), San Pablo, San Isidro, Belén y Santa Bárbara.
PuntarenasGarabito, Montes de Oro, distritos de Barranca, Puntarenas, Chacarita, y El Roble del cantón de Puntarenas.
LimónLimón, Matina, Talamanca.

Latests News

Get a Quotation

We work and have contact with several hotel, agencies and tour operators. If you are planning a group travel or your company is looking for incentives and rewards contact us and we will pass as your inquiry to several providers. This service is completely free.