6 new states join the list of entry permits to Costa Rica

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email

Six new US states, for a total of 12, are added to the list of territories whose residents will be able to enter Costa Rica by air.

As of September 1, in addition to residents of New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Vermont, Maine and Connecticut (announced a week ago), those who live in Maryland, Virginia, District of Columbia will be able to enter. Two weeks later, on September 15, residents of Pennsylvania, Massachusetts and Colorado will also be allowed to enter..

“The entry of travelers from these 12 states is allowed because they currently have an epidemiological condition similar or lower levels of contagion to those of Costa Rica,” explained Gustavo J. Segura, Rector of Tourism, when making the announcement this Thursday in press conference from the Presidential House.

Likewise, the hierarch announced that not only the driver’s license but also the state identification (State ID), which are used by those who do not drive, will be admitted as proof of residence in those states. This requirement excludes minors traveling with their family.

Segura added that tourists from authorized states may arrive in the country, even if they stop at an unauthorized destination, as long as they do not leave the airport. For example, a tourist who takes a flight from the Newark airport in New Jersey and makes a stopover in Panama will be able to enter the country.

Another measure announced this Thursday is that from now on, the deadline for taking the PCR sample – whose result must be negative – goes from 48 to 72 hours. This applies to all countries authorized to enter Costa Rica.

Segura stressed that the opening to international tourism will continue to be responsible, careful and gradual, to promote reactivation, and will go hand in hand with the promotion of local tourism.

“I reiterate the call for joint responsibility to protect people’s health and at the same time the jobs that we hope to recover. If we all adhere to the protocols, the measures will be sustainable over time, ”said the head of Tourism.

For people residing in the aforementioned states of the United States, four requirements apply to enter Costa Rica:

  1. Complete the epidemiological digital form called HEALTH PASS.
  2. Perform the PCR test and obtain a negative result; The test must be taken a maximum of 72 hours before the flight to Costa Rica.
  3. Mandatory travel insurance that covers accommodation in case of quarantine and medical expenses due to COVID illness. Said insurance can be international or purchased from Costa Rican insurers.
  4. Prove through their driver’s license or State ID that they live in one of the states that are being authorized.

Latests News